Hocking County, Ohio, Flag

Jun 8th, 2018



Hocking County is located in the mid-south region of Ohio and consists of 424 square miles. It was organized in 1818 from portions of Athens, Fairfield, and Ross counties. The county seat is located in the city of Logan. Hocking County was named after the Hocking River.


A county flag design was held by the Hocking County Commissioners in 2002 in preparation for the Ohio Bicentennial. The winning entry was submitted by Pam Nelson.


The meanings assigned to the flag design include the following:


*     Blue and Green Field: Hocking River and Hocking Hills

*     Green Stripes (12 total): Represents the 12 townships in the county

*     Three Points: The three counties that Hocking was created from: Athens, Fairfield, and Ross


The Ohio Veterans Plaza at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus, Ohio, features plaques and accompanying flagpoles from each of the 88 counties in Ohio. The flags were presented at the Ohio Statehouse in 2003 during the Bicentennial flag dedication ceremonies and are now displayed annually.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus