Bahamas National Flag

Dec 2nd, 2018


The Bahamas, officially known as the Commonwealth of Bahamas, is a county in the Atlantic Ocean that consists of over 700 islands and over 2000 islets and cays. The land areas are scattered in over 100,000 square miles of the Atlantic Ocean and lie southeast of the state of Florida. The Bahamas became an independent country in July 1973 but the British monarch, currently Queen Elizabeth II, remains as its head of state. The city of Nassau was chosen to serve as the country’s capital.


In 1972, when independence negotiations were in progress, The Bahamas held a national flag design contest. None of the submitted designs were acceptable. Instead, Dr. Hervis Bain was chosen to combine the various elements from the other entries in the contest to create a design. His finished flag design was accepted and was officially adopted in July 1973.


The true meanings assigned to the flag design are not clear. Following are two versions:


*     Aquamarine: Water

*     Black: The strength of the people

*     Gold: The sun and The Bahamas natural resources

*     Triangle: The people’s determined nature in cultivating the areas natural resources




*     Black Triangle: The black population of the islands

*     Blue: The Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean Sea

*     Yellow: Sun, sand, and beaches


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus