Champaign County, Ohio, Flag

Apr 15th, 2018



Champaign County is located in the Midwest region of Ohio and is comprised of 432 square miles. It was formed in 1805 from portions of Greene and Franklin counties. Champaign is a French word meaning open countryside. Half of the county is level and 5 percent is prairie, the remaining landscape varies from rolling to hilly. The Champaign County seat is located in the city of Urbana.


The Champaign County flag was adopted in 2003. It was designed by Nicholas Meyer, a Graham Middle School student. The meanings assigned to the design are not known. The upper left corner of the flag features yellow gears, the upper right corner red houses and cars, the lower left blue waves, and the lower right green crops. The white shape in the center of the flag is an outline of Champaign County.


The Ohio Veterans Plaza at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus, Ohio, features plaques and accompanying flagpoles from each of the 88 counties in Ohio. The flags were presented at the Ohio Statehouse in 2005 during the Bicentennial flag dedication ceremonies and are now displayed annually.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus