Cuba National Flag

Dec 30th, 2018


Cuba, officially the Republic of Cuba, consists of the island of Cuba, the island of Isla de la Juventud, and several other island clusters. Its total area, including territorial waters, is 42,800 square miles. Cuba is located in the northern region of the Caribbean Sea. The city of Havana serves as the country’s capital. Cuba seceded from the United States protectorate status in 1903 and became an independent country. After going through strife and changes in government for years, Cuba has ended up as a unitary Marxist-Leninist socialist republic and is now governed by the Communist party.


The Cuba national flag was designed in 1849 by Narciso Lopez, an advocate for Cuba’s liberation from Spain, with help from poet Miguel Teurbe Tolon. The flag was not officially adopted until 1902. The flag is said to be a symbol of independence and sovereignty.


The meanings assigned to the flag design include the following:


*     Blue (3 total): The original three Cuban provinces: Eastern, Central, and Western

*     Red Triangle: Equality, liberty, fraternity, and the bloodshed by Patriots

*     White: Pure ideals

*     Star: The star that Lopez hoped would be added to the U.S. flag if Cuba became a part of the United States. It is also said to mean the unity of the people.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus