Czech Republic National Flag

Dec 28th, 2018


The Czech Republic is located in Central Europe. The country is landlocked between Germany, Austria, Slovakia, and Poland and consists of 30,450 square miles. The Czech Republic became an independent country in 1918 following World War II and was named Czechoslovakia. It was split into two countries in 1993. Czechoslovakia was changed to the Czech Republic and the other half became Slovakia. The city of Prague serves as the Czech capital. The country has a unitary parliamentary republic style of government.


The official national flag was designed in 1920 by Jaroslav Kursa, a Ministry of the Interior archivist. He used the traditional colors of Czechoslovakia and added a blue pennant shape to differentiate it from the Polish national flag. The flag was in constant use up until 1939 when it was banned by Germans that occupied the country until World War II ended. It was restored as the national flag in 1945. The flag is said to be a symbol of national unity.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus