El Salvador National Flag

Jan 26th, 2019


El Salvador, officially the Republic of El Salvador, is a county in Central America bordering the Pacific Ocean. It consists of 8,124 square miles of mountainous land. The city of San Salvador serves as the country’s capital. El Salvador gained independence from the Federal Republic of Central America in 1841. It is governed as a unitary presidential constitutional republic.


The current national flag of El Salvador was adopted in 1912. The name of its designer and how it was chosen is unknown, however, triband flags are typical in Central America. The field of the flag consists a triband of blue, white, and blue and features the national coat of arms in the center.


The meanings assigned to the flag design include the following:


*     Blue: The sky and the two massive bodies of water: The Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean that border the country

*     White: Peace and world solidarity

*     Golden Amber: The bold style of the flag


The meanings assigned to the coat of arms include the following:


*     Triangle: The executive, legislative, and judicial powers of the Republic

*     Red Cap: the abolition of slavery

*     Blue Stars: The five stars represent the former members of the 14 provinces

*     Wreath: Individual states



The above flag is displayed by the El Salvador public. It features the same triband as the national flag but does not contain the coat of arms.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus