India National Flag

Mar 2nd, 2019


India, official known as the Republic of India, is located in South Asia and borders the Indian Ocean. It consists of 1,269,219 square miles. The city of New Delhi serves as the capital. India gained its independence from Britain in 1947 and became a republic in 1950. It is governed as a federal parliamentary republic.


The official flag of India was adopted in 1947. The design is based on the flag of the Indian National Congress, a political party. That flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya. The designer of India’s flag is unknown, but it was chosen by a Constituent Assembly ad hoc committee. The flag has a tricolor field and features an Ashoka Chakra, a 24-spoke wheel, in the center.


The meanings assigned to the flag design include the following:


*     Ashoka Chakra: The eternal wheel of law

*     Saffron: Courage, sacrifice, and Hinduism

*     White: Peace and truth

*     Green: Faith, chivalry, and Islam


India’s flag law state that it must be made with khadi, a hand spun, hand woven natural fiber cloth consisting of either cotton or silk. It also states that disrespecting the flag can result in 3 years imprisonment, a fine, or both. It is interesting that India’s citizens were not allowed to display the flag at will until 2002.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus