Jefferson County, Ohio, Flag

Jun 24th, 2018



Jefferson County, Ohio, is located on the mid-eastern border of Ohio and consists of 411 square miles. It was founded and organized in 1797. The county was named for Thomas Jefferson, the main writer of the Declaration of Independence and third president of the United States. At the time Jefferson County was organized, Thomas Jefferson was vice president of the United States. Steubenville serves as the county seat.


There is nothing known about the designer of the county flag or how it was selected. The flag has a white field with a blue stripe at the top and bottom containing seven stars each. The county seal is featured in the center of the flag. It can be assumed that the total of 14 stars represents the 14 townships in the county. The yellow image in the center of the seal is the county outline.


The Ohio Veterans Plaza at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus, Ohio, features plaques and accompanying flagpoles from each of the 88 counties in Ohio. The flags were presented at the Ohio Statehouse in 2003 during the Bicentennial flag dedication ceremonies and are now displayed annually.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus