Knox County, Ohio, Flag

Jun 23rd, 2018



Knox County, Ohio, is located in the middle region of Ohio and consists of 530 square miles. Most of the county consists of farmlands and forest. Knox County was formed in 1808 from a portion of Fairfield County. The city of Mount Vernon serves as the county seat. Knox County was named for Henry Knox, an American Revolution war officer and the first United States Secretary of War.


The Knox County Board of Commissioners held a flag design contest in 1985 and received over 430 entries. The winning design was created Karen Robison’s fifth-grade students at Danville Intermediate School. The flag was officially adopted in September 1985.


The meanings assigned to the flag design include the following:


*     1808: The year that the county was formed

*     Blue Star: Mount Vernon, the county seat

*     Outline: Knox County outline

*     Stars (23 Total): The 23 townships in the county


The Ohio Veterans Plaza at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus, Ohio, features plaques and accompanying flagpoles from each of the 88 counties in Ohio. The flags were presented at the Ohio Statehouse in 2003 during the Bicentennial flag dedication ceremonies and are now displayed annually.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus