Madison County, Ohio, Flag

Jul 6th, 2018


Madison County is located in middle Ohio and consists of 467 square miles. It was founded in 1810 and chose the city of London to serve as the county seat. Madison County is named for James Madison, the 4th President of the United States and current president at the time the county was founded.


The designer of the Madison County flag is unknown. The flag has an alternating red and white stripe patterned field and features an outline of the county in the center. The red circle surrounding white in the center of the outline represents the county seat. The outline is surrounded by 14 blue stars that represent the 14 townships in the county. It could be assumed the flag was created to present to the state for its bicentennial.


The Ohio Veterans Plaza at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus, Ohio, features plaques and accompanying flagpoles from each of the 88 counties in Ohio. The flags were presented at the Ohio Statehouse in 2003 during the Bicentennial flag dedication ceremonies and are now displayed annually.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus