Union County, Ohio, Flag

Sep 23rd, 2018



Union County is located in the middle region of Ohio and consists of 437 square miles. It was formed in 1820 from portions of Delaware, Franklin, Logan, and Madison counties. The county seat is located the city of Marysville. Union County gets its name from the fact that its formation was a result of a union between the separate portions of other counties.


Like many other counties in Ohio, Union County did not have a county flag until the state requested one for its bicentennial celebrations. In response to that request, the county held a flag design contest and invited all county residents to participate. The winning entry was submitted by Fairbanks High School student Jeremy Bolin. It was officially adopted as the county flag in December 2002.


There is no information available on why the colors red, white and blue were chosen for the field. The center of the flag shows an outline of Union County and features a large star in the center that likely represents Marysville, the location of the county seat. Images of an ear of corn and wheat heads represent the agricultural heritage of the county.


The Ohio Veterans Plaza at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus, Ohio, features plaques and accompanying flagpoles from each of the 88 counties in Ohio. The flags were presented at the Ohio Statehouse in 2003 during the Bicentennial flag dedication ceremonies and are now displayed annually.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus