Washington County, Ohio, Flag

Sep 29th, 2018



Washington County is located on the southeast border of Ohio and consists of 640 square miles. It was founded in 1788 making it the first, and in turn, the oldest county in the state. The county seat is located in the city of Marietta. Washington County was named for George Washington, one of the founders of the United States and the first U.S. President.


The flag of Washington County was designed by WASCO Workshop employees with oversight by former Commissioner Wayne Schafer. The flag’s shape is similar to a swallowtail burgee. It was created for use in the county’s bicentennial celebrations in 1988.


The meanings assigned to the flag’s design include the following:


*     1788: The year that the county was created. The numbers are printed in large red print to designate the county’s status as the oldest in the state

*     Blue Stars (5 Total): Represent the five villages in the county

*     Red Stars (2 Total): Represent the cities of Marietta, the county seat, and Belpre

*     White Stars (22 Total): Represent the 22 townships in the county

*     White Shape in Center: An outline of Washington County


The Ohio Veterans Plaza at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus, Ohio, features plaques and accompanying flagpoles from each of the 88 counties in Ohio. The flags were presented at the Ohio Statehouse in 2003 during the Bicentennial flag dedication ceremonies and are now displayed annually.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus