Wayne County, Ohio, Flag

Sep 28th, 2018



Wayne County is located in the Mid-northern region of Ohio and consists of 557 square miles. It was formed in 1808 and organized in 1812. The county seat is located in the city of Wooster. Wayne County is named for “Mad” Anthony Wayne, an American Revolutionary War United States Army brigadier general. He acquired the term “Mad” due to his fiery personality.


Helen Critchfield, Wayne County 175th Celebration Committee, requested a flag design project in 1987. The Wooster Emblem Club was her choice due to their work to promote flag display and Americanism. A member of that club, Geneva Johnston, designed the flag that was chosen for the county. The center image includes an adjusted image of the county seal.


The meanings assigned to the flag design include the following:


*     Buildings: Churches

*     Clock Tower: County Courthouse clock tower – added at the request of county commissioners

*     Factory: Industry

*     Farm: Agriculture

*     Hand: Education

*     Image Inside Inner Circle: Outline of the State of Ohio

*     Image Inside Outline: A map of Wayne County

*     Red Stripes (4 Total): The four original townships

*     White Stripes (3 Total): Represents the county’s status as the third territory in the U.S.


The Ohio Veterans Plaza at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus, Ohio, features plaques and accompanying flagpoles from each of the 88 counties in Ohio. The flags were presented at the Ohio Statehouse in 2003 during the Bicentennial flag dedication ceremonies and are now displayed annually.


Flagpoles Etc.


We are a family-owned business that has spent over 25 years in our chosen trade. All of our products are made in America. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have regarding flags, flagpoles, and flag and flagpole accessories. Visit our Website to purchase yours today!


To keep up-to-date with our latest news and informative blog posts, Like us on Facebook, and  Follow us on Twitter (@FlagPoleEtc) and Google Plus